Skip to content
Electric Bike Simulator

Gotrax · Folding

Gotrax Z4 Pro: real range, hills and charging

A 180 lb rider on the Gotrax Z4 Pro at 16 mph with relaxed pedaling over rolling hills (±2%) on pavement can expect about 29 miles per charge (23–34 mi), using 15.1 Wh per mile. The brand claims up to 50 miles. That is about 57% of the claim. On throttle only over hills it drops to about 19 miles.

Gotrax Z4 Pro electric bike
Photo: Gotrax
Price at Gotrax $899

$1,299

480

Wh battery

500

W motor

28

mph max

Check price at Gotrax → Simulate your own ride

Price checked 2026-10-20. We may earn a commission.

How far does the Gotrax Z4 Pro go for your weight?

Miles per full charge on a new battery at 70°F on pavement, no wind. Each number is the middle of a ±20% band. Gotrax claims up to 50 miles (no conditions stated).

Rider weightEasy 12 mphEveryday 16 mphFast 20 mphThrottle, hills
150 lb 46 mi (37–56)30 mi (24–36)21 mi (17–25)21 mi (17–26)
200 lb 41 mi (32–49)28 mi (22–33)20 mi (16–24)18 mi (15–22)
250 lb 36 mi (29–43)25 mi (20–29)19 mi (15–23)16 mi (13–19)
300 lbover max load 32 mi (26–39)22 mi (18–26)18 mi (14–21)14 mi (11–17)

Can the Gotrax Z4 Pro climb hills?

Highest steady speed on each grade, motor at an estimated 800 W peak. A 10% grade is a steep city street; 15% is a hard hill.

Rider5% grade10% grade15% grade
180 lb, throttle16 mph9 mph7 mph
180 lb, pedaling18 mph11 mph8 mph
250 lb, throttle14 mph8 mph5 mph
250 lb, pedaling15 mph9 mph6 mph

Steepest grade at 8 mph (180 lb): 12% on throttle, 14% with moderate pedaling. Peak power lasts for short hills; on long climbs motors fall back toward their 500 W nominal rating.

Charging time and cost

Empty to full (2 A)

4 h 44 min

With a 5 A charger

2 h 30 min

Cost per full charge

$0.10

Cost per mile

0.33¢

US average residential electricity, 18.31¢/kWh (EIA, July 2026), 85% charger efficiency. Charge time: constant current to ~85%, then about an hour of top-off.

Range in cold weather

70°F

29

mi · 100% cap.

50°F

26

mi · 94% cap.

32°F

23

mi · 85% cap.

20°F

20

mi · 75% cap.

Everyday scenario, 180 lb rider. Capacity loss is temporary; store and charge the battery indoors and never charge it below freezing.

Simulate your own ride on the Z4 Pro

E-bike

480 Wh500 W28 mph max66 lbFull specs →

Rider weight180 lb
Cargo0 lb
Average speed16 mph
How you ride
Terrain
Weather, surface & battery age70°F · no wind · paved · new battery
Temperature70°F
Headwind0 mph
Battery health100%

About 80% after ~800 full charges

Surface

Estimated range

Gotrax Z4 Pro

29miles

likely 23–34 mi · 15.1 Wh/mi · 1h 47m of riding

0 miBrand claim: 50 mi (57% of it)
Cost / mile
0.33¢
$0.10 per full charge
Full charge
4h 44m
2 A charger
Steepest hill
13%
at 8 mph, motor peak
Usable energy
432 Wh
of 480 Wh rated
Speed
16 mph
average, moving
Ride time
1h 47m
until empty

Same ride, different pedaling

Throttle only
24 mi
Relaxed pedaling
29 mi
Moderate pedaling
33 mi
Hard pedaling
38 mi

A 180 lb rider on the Gotrax Z4 Pro at 16 mph with relaxed pedaling over rolling hills (±2%) on pavement can expect about 29 miles per charge (23–34 mi), using 15.1 Wh per mile. The brand claims up to 50 miles.

Open full simulator

Gotrax Z4 Pro specs

From the Gotrax product page, checked 2026-10-20. est. marks values Gotrax doesn't confirm.

Price
$899 (list $1,299)
Class
Class Not stated, throttle est.
Source note

28 mph with twist throttle; no class stated

Top assisted speed
28 mph
Source note

Product page says 28 mph; Gotrax's EBE4 (same bike) manual says 20 mph

Battery
480 Wh (48 V × 10 Ah), removable est.
Source note

Product page gives only '48V'. 48V 10Ah from the EBE4 manual on Gotrax's store CDN; Gotrax sells one battery for 'Z4 Pro & EBE4' cdn.shopify.com

Motor
500 W nominal, rear hub
Source note

Gotrax says '500W Avg'

Torque
Not published est.
Source note

Not stated

Pedal sensor
Torque and cadence
Claimed range
Up to 50 mi (No conditions stated)
Weight
66 lb with battery
Max load
265 lb rider + cargo
Source note

Total weight limit

Wheels & tires
20" × 4"
Frame
6061 aluminum folding fat tire, front suspension
Charger
2 A
Safety certification
UL 2849 ('in accordance with')

Replaces or follows: Gotrax EBE4.

Common questions

What is the weight limit of the Gotrax Z4 Pro?

Gotrax rates the Z4 Pro for 265 lb total (rider plus cargo). At 250 lb it still goes about 25 miles in everyday riding.

Can the Gotrax Z4 Pro climb steep hills?

On throttle alone, with a 180 lb rider, it can hold 8 mph up a grade of about 12% (our estimate from its 800 W estimated peak power). With moderate pedaling, about 14%. On a 10% hill it holds about 9 mph on throttle.

How long does the Gotrax Z4 Pro take to charge?

About 4 h 44 min from empty with the 2 A charger, or about 2 h 30 min with a 5 A fast charger. A full charge costs about $0.10 at the US average of 18.31¢/kWh, or 0.33¢ per mile.

Is the Gotrax Z4 Pro a Class 2 or Class 3 e-bike?

Gotrax lists it as Class Not stated, with a top assisted speed of 28 mph and a throttle. Class 3 speeds (up to 28 mph) are limited to pedal assist; on throttle, Class 2 rules cap it at 20 mph.

Which hitch racks fit the Z4 Pro?

At 66 lb with battery (about 61 lb without it) and 4" tires, 12 of 23 hitch racks we track can carry it.

Doesn't fit: Thule Epos 2-bike (tires too wide), Yakima OnRamp (tires too wide), Thule EasyFold XT 2 (tires too wide), 1UP USA Heavy Duty Double (tires too wide), Thule T2 Pro XTR 2-bike (too heavy), Kuat NV 2.0 2-bike (too heavy), Kuat NV Base 2.0 2-bike (too heavy), Saris Door County 2-Bike Motorized (tires too wide), Saris SuperClamp G4 2-Bike (too heavy), Hollywood Racks Sport Rider SE2 (tires too wide), Saris Freedom G2 2-Bike (tires too wide).

All hitch racks →

Compare the Z4 Pro

Other folding e-bikes