Rad Power Bikes · Folding · discontinued
Rad Power Bikes RadMini 4: real range, hills and charging
A 180 lb rider on the Rad Power Bikes RadMini 4 at 16 mph with relaxed pedaling over rolling hills (±2%) on pavement can expect about 43 miles per charge (34–51 mi), using 14.2 Wh per mile. The brand claims up to 45 miles. That is about 95% of the claim. On throttle only over hills it drops to about 28 miles. It is discontinued; of the current folding e-bikes we track, the lowest-priced that goes as far is the Ride1Up Portola ($1,095, about 46 miles).
672
Wh battery
750
W motor
20
mph max
Price checked 2026-10-23. We may earn a commission.
How far does the Rad Power Bikes RadMini 4 go for your weight?
Miles per full charge on a new battery at 70°F on pavement, no wind. Each number is the middle of a ±20% band. Rad Power Bikes claims up to 45 miles (brand says 'up to 45+ miles per charge'; no lower bound published).
| Rider weight | Easy 12 mph | Everyday 16 mph | Fast 20 mph | Throttle, hills |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 150 lb | 74 mi (59–89) | 46 mi (37–55) | 31 mi (25–38) | 31 mi (24–37) |
| 200 lb | 65 mi (52–78) | 41 mi (32–49) | 30 mi (24–36) | 26 mi (21–32) |
| 250 lb | 59 mi (47–70) | 36 mi (29–43) | 28 mi (23–34) | 23 mi (18–28) |
| 300 lbover max load | 53 mi (42–64) | 32 mi (26–39) | 27 mi (22–32) | 21 mi (16–25) |
- Easy 12 mph: 12 mph, relaxed pedaling, flat
- Everyday 16 mph: 16 mph, relaxed pedaling, rolling hills
- Fast 20 mph: 20 mph, relaxed pedaling, rolling hills
- Throttle, hills: 15 mph, no pedaling, hilly
Independent range tests
Reviewers rode the RadMini 4 until the battery died. Our model, run in the same conditions (180 lb rider assumed; testers don't publish weight), is shown next to each result.
lowest assist · 14.1 mph avg
53.47 mi
measured by Electric Bike Report · 12.6 Wh/mi
Our model: 46 mi (37–56) within band
highest assist · 19.7 mph avg
31.86 mi
measured by Electric Bike Report · 21.1 Wh/mi
Our model: 31 mi (25–37) within band
Can the Rad Power Bikes RadMini 4 climb hills?
Highest steady speed on each grade, motor at an estimated 1,200 W peak, limited by its 80 Nm of torque. A 10% grade is a steep city street; 15% is a hard hill.
| Rider | 5% grade | 10% grade | 15% grade |
|---|---|---|---|
| 180 lb, throttle | 20 mph | 14 mph | 10 mph |
| 180 lb, pedaling | 20 mph | 15 mph | 11 mph |
| 250 lb, throttle | 19 mph | 11 mph | 8 mph |
| 250 lb, pedaling | 20 mph | 12 mph | 9 mph |
Steepest grade at 8 mph (180 lb): 19% on throttle, 21% with moderate pedaling. Peak power lasts for short hills; on long climbs motors fall back toward their 750 W nominal rating.
Charging time and cost
Empty to full (2 A)
6 h 14 min
With a 5 A charger
3 h 6 min
Cost per full charge
$0.14
Cost per mile
0.31¢
US average residential electricity, 18.31¢/kWh (EIA, July 2026), 85% charger efficiency. Charge time: constant current to ~85%, then about an hour of top-off.
Range in cold weather
70°F
43
mi · 100% cap.
50°F
40
mi · 94% cap.
32°F
35
mi · 85% cap.
20°F
30
mi · 75% cap.
Everyday scenario, 180 lb rider. Capacity loss is temporary; store and charge the battery indoors and never charge it below freezing.
Simulate your own ride on the RadMini 4
Rad Power Bikes RadMini 4 specs
From the Rad Power Bikes product page, checked 2026-10-23. est. marks values Rad Power Bikes doesn't confirm.
- Price
- $1,499
Source note
US price $1,499 on archived page 2021-05-02; page redirected (301) by Sept 2021 and later to the RadExpand 5, which replaced it. web.archive.org
- Class
- Class 2, throttle est.
Source note
Brand page does not state the class; Electric Bike Report lists Class 2 (throttle to 20 mph), configurable to Class 3 28 mph assist. electricbikereport.com
- Top assisted speed
- 20 mph est.
Source note
Not stated on archived brand page; from Electric Bike Report (Class 2, 20 mph). electricbikereport.com
- Battery
- 672 Wh (48 V × 14 Ah), removable
Source note
48V 14 Ah (672 Wh), Samsung 35E cells. web.archive.org
- Motor
- 750 W nominal, rear hub
Source note
- Torque
- 80 Nm
Source note
- Pedal sensor
- Cadence
- Claimed range
- Up to 45 mi (Brand says 'up to 45+ miles per charge'; no lower bound published)
Source note
- Weight
- 67 lb with battery
Source note
Electric Bike Report lists 68 lb. web.archive.org
- Max load
- 275 lb rider + cargo
Source note
- Wheels & tires
- 20" × 3"
- Frame
- 6061 aluminum folding frame (mid-step), one size
- Charger
- 2 A
Source note
- Safety certification
- No UL standard named on the product page
Common questions
What is the weight limit of the Rad Power Bikes RadMini 4?
Rad Power Bikes rates the RadMini 4 for 275 lb total (rider plus cargo). At 250 lb it still goes about 36 miles in everyday riding.
Can the Rad Power Bikes RadMini 4 climb steep hills?
On throttle alone, with a 180 lb rider, it can hold 8 mph up a grade of about 19% (our estimate from its 1200 W estimated peak power and 80 Nm). With moderate pedaling, about 21%. On a 10% hill it holds about 14 mph on throttle.
How long does the Rad Power Bikes RadMini 4 take to charge?
About 6 h 14 min from empty with the 2 A charger, or about 3 h 6 min with a 5 A fast charger. A full charge costs about $0.14 at the US average of 18.31¢/kWh, or 0.31¢ per mile.
Is the Rad Power Bikes RadMini 4 a Class 2 or Class 3 e-bike?
Rad Power Bikes lists it as Class 2, with a top assisted speed of 20 mph and a throttle.
Which hitch racks fit the RadMini 4?
At 67 lb with battery (about 59 lb without it) and 3" tires, 21 of 23 hitch racks we track can carry it (some only with the battery removed).
Doesn't fit: Hollywood Racks Sport Rider SE2 (too heavy), Saris Freedom G2 2-Bike (wheel size out of range).
All hitch racks →