Gotrax · Fat tire
Gotrax Tundra: real range, hills and charging
A 180 lb rider on the Gotrax Tundra at 16 mph with relaxed pedaling over rolling hills (±2%) on pavement can expect about 56 miles per charge (45–67 mi), using 15.4 Wh per mile. The brand claims up to 74 miles. That is about 76% of the claim. On throttle only over hills it drops to about 37 miles.
$1,499
960
Wh battery
750
W motor
28
mph max
Price checked 2026-10-20. We may earn a commission.
How far does the Gotrax Tundra go for your weight?
Miles per full charge on a new battery at 70°F on pavement, no wind. Each number is the middle of a ±20% band. Gotrax claims up to 74 miles (no conditions stated).
| Rider weight | Easy 12 mph | Everyday 16 mph | Fast 20 mph | Throttle, hills |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 150 lb | 90 mi (72–108) | 59 mi (47–71) | 42 mi (33–50) | 41 mi (33–49) |
| 200 lb | 79 mi (63–94) | 54 mi (43–64) | 39 mi (31–47) | 35 mi (28–42) |
| 250 lb | 70 mi (56–84) | 48 mi (38–57) | 37 mi (30–44) | 31 mi (25–37) |
| 300 lb | 63 mi (51–76) | 43 mi (34–52) | 35 mi (28–42) | 28 mi (22–33) |
- Easy 12 mph: 12 mph, relaxed pedaling, flat
- Everyday 16 mph: 16 mph, relaxed pedaling, rolling hills
- Fast 20 mph: 20 mph, relaxed pedaling, rolling hills
- Throttle, hills: 15 mph, no pedaling, hilly
Can the Gotrax Tundra climb hills?
Highest steady speed on each grade, motor at an estimated 1,200 W peak. A 10% grade is a steep city street; 15% is a hard hill.
| Rider | 5% grade | 10% grade | 15% grade |
|---|---|---|---|
| 180 lb, throttle | 21 mph | 13 mph | 9 mph |
| 180 lb, pedaling | 22 mph | 14 mph | 10 mph |
| 250 lb, throttle | 18 mph | 11 mph | 8 mph |
| 250 lb, pedaling | 20 mph | 12 mph | 8 mph |
Steepest grade at 8 mph (180 lb): 18% on throttle, 20% with moderate pedaling. Peak power lasts for short hills; on long climbs motors fall back toward their 750 W nominal rating.
Charging time and cost
Empty to full (3 A)
5 h 59 min
With a 5 A charger
3 h 59 min
Cost per full charge
$0.21
Cost per mile
0.33¢
US average residential electricity, 18.31¢/kWh (EIA, July 2026), 85% charger efficiency. Charge time: constant current to ~85%, then about an hour of top-off.
Range in cold weather
70°F
56
mi · 100% cap.
50°F
51
mi · 94% cap.
32°F
45
mi · 85% cap.
20°F
39
mi · 75% cap.
Everyday scenario, 180 lb rider. Capacity loss is temporary; store and charge the battery indoors and never charge it below freezing.
Simulate your own ride on the Tundra
Gotrax Tundra specs
From the Gotrax product page, checked 2026-10-20. est. marks values Gotrax doesn't confirm.
- Price
- $1,299 (list $1,499)
- Class
- Class Not stated, throttle est.
Source note
28 mph with thumb throttle; no class stated
- Top assisted speed
- 28 mph
- Battery
- 960 Wh (48 V × 20 Ah), removable
- Motor
- 750 W nominal, rear hub
Source note
Gotrax says '750W Avg' (Bafang)
- Torque
- Not published est.
Source note
Not stated
- Pedal sensor
- Torque
- Claimed range
- Up to 74 mi (No conditions stated)
- Weight
- 78.1 lb with battery
- Max load
- 300 lb rider + cargo
Source note
'Total weight limit'; earlier listings said 265 lb
- Wheels & tires
- 26" × 4"
- Frame
- 6061 aluminum fat tire, step-thru or step-over, front suspension, rack included
- Charger
- 3 A
- Safety certification
- UL 2849 ('in accordance with')
Common questions
What is the weight limit of the Gotrax Tundra?
Gotrax rates the Tundra for 300 lb total (rider plus cargo). At 300 lb it still goes about 43 miles in everyday riding.
Can the Gotrax Tundra climb steep hills?
On throttle alone, with a 180 lb rider, it can hold 8 mph up a grade of about 18% (our estimate from its 1200 W estimated peak power). With moderate pedaling, about 20%. On a 10% hill it holds about 13 mph on throttle.
How long does the Gotrax Tundra take to charge?
About 5 h 59 min from empty with the 3 A charger, or about 3 h 59 min with a 5 A fast charger. A full charge costs about $0.21 at the US average of 18.31¢/kWh, or 0.33¢ per mile.
Is the Gotrax Tundra a Class 2 or Class 3 e-bike?
Gotrax lists it as Class Not stated, with a top assisted speed of 28 mph and a throttle. Class 3 speeds (up to 28 mph) are limited to pedal assist; on throttle, Class 2 rules cap it at 20 mph.
Which hitch racks fit the Tundra?
At 78.1 lb with battery (about 67 lb without it) and 4" tires, 12 of 23 hitch racks we track can carry it (some only with the battery removed).
| Kuat Piston ION 2-bike | 100 lb/bike | Fits |
| 1UP USA Super Duty Double | 100 lb/bike | Fits |
| Saris MHS 2 Bike Package | 100 lb/bike | Fits |
| Aventon Hitch Rack Pro | 85 lb/bike | Fits |
| Yakima OnRamp LX | 80 lb/bike | Fits |
| Hollywood Racks Sport Rider for Electric Bikes | 80 lb/bike | Fits |
| Hollywood Racks RV Rider E-Bike Rack | 80 lb/bike | Fits |
| Aventon Hitch Rack | 77 lb/bike | Fits with battery removed |
| Yakima StageTwo | 70 lb/bike | Fits with battery removed |
| Hollywood Racks Destination E | 70 lb/bike | Fits with battery removed |
| Allen Sports High Capacity Locking Premier for Electric Bikes | 70 lb/bike | Fits with battery removed |
| Kuat Piston Pro X 2-bike | 67 lb/bike | Fits with battery removed |
Doesn't fit: Thule Epos 2-bike (tires too wide), Yakima OnRamp (tires too wide), Thule EasyFold XT 2 (tires too wide), 1UP USA Heavy Duty Double (tires too wide), Thule T2 Pro XTR 2-bike (too heavy), Kuat NV 2.0 2-bike (too heavy), Kuat NV Base 2.0 2-bike (too heavy), Saris Door County 2-Bike Motorized (tires too wide), Saris SuperClamp G4 2-Bike (too heavy), Hollywood Racks Sport Rider SE2 (tires too wide), Saris Freedom G2 2-Bike (tires too wide).
All hitch racks →