Tern · Cargo & utility
Tern Quick Haul D8: real range, hills and charging
A 180 lb rider on the Tern Quick Haul D8 at 16 mph with relaxed pedaling over rolling hills (±2%) on pavement can expect about 25 miles per charge (20–30 mi), using 14.6 Wh per mile. The brand claims up to 65 miles. That is about 38% of the claim. At full assist with almost no pedaling over hills it drops to about 17 miles.
400
Wh battery
250
W motor
20
mph max
Price checked 2026-10-20. We may earn a commission.
How far does the Tern Quick Haul D8 go for your weight?
Miles per full charge on a new battery at 70°F on pavement, no wind. Each number is the middle of a ±20% band. Tern claims up to 65 miles (tern: 400 wh 33.6-65.2 mi; no further conditions stated).
| Rider weight | Easy 12 mph | Everyday 16 mph | Fast 20 mph | Full assist, hills |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 150 lb | 45 mi (36–54) | 26 mi (20–31) | 17 mi (13–20) | 18 mi (15–22) |
| 200 lb | 41 mi (32–49) | 24 mi (19–29) | 16 mi (13–19) | 16 mi (13–19) |
| 250 lb | 37 mi (30–45) | 21 mi (17–26) | 16 mi (12–19) | 14 mi (11–17) |
| 300 lbover max load | 34 mi (27–41) | 19 mi (15–23) | 15 mi (12–18) | 12 mi (10–15) |
- Easy 12 mph: 12 mph, relaxed pedaling, flat
- Everyday 16 mph: 16 mph, relaxed pedaling, rolling hills
- Fast 20 mph: 20 mph, relaxed pedaling, rolling hills
- Throttle, hills: 15 mph, no pedaling, hilly
Can the Tern Quick Haul D8 climb hills?
Highest steady speed on each grade, motor at its 600 W peak. A 10% grade is a steep city street; 15% is a hard hill.
| Rider | 5% grade | 10% grade | 15% grade |
|---|---|---|---|
| 180 lb, full assist | 14 mph | 9 mph | 6 mph |
| 180 lb, pedaling | 15 mph | 10 mph | 7 mph |
| 250 lb, full assist | 12 mph | 7 mph | 5 mph |
| 250 lb, pedaling | 13 mph | 8 mph | 6 mph |
Steepest grade at 8 mph (180 lb): 11% on throttle, 13% with moderate pedaling. Peak power lasts for short hills; on long climbs motors fall back toward their 250 W nominal rating.
Charging time and cost
Empty to full (2 A)
5 h 3 min
With a 5 A charger
2 h 37 min
Cost per full charge
$0.09
Cost per mile
0.31¢
US average residential electricity, 18.31¢/kWh (EIA, July 2026), 85% charger efficiency. Charge time: constant current to ~85%, then about an hour of top-off.
Range in cold weather
70°F
25
mi · 100% cap.
50°F
22
mi · 94% cap.
32°F
20
mi · 85% cap.
20°F
17
mi · 75% cap.
Everyday scenario, 180 lb rider. Capacity loss is temporary; store and charge the battery indoors and never charge it below freezing.
Simulate your own ride on the Quick Haul D8
Tern Quick Haul D8 specs
From the Tern product page, checked 2026-10-20. est. marks values Tern doesn't confirm.
- Price
- $2,999
- Class
- Class 1, no throttle est.
Source note
Not stated; 20 mph assist (US), no throttle -> Class 1 inferred
- Top assisted speed
- 20 mph
Source note
- Battery
- 400 Wh (36 V), removable
Source note
Bosch PowerPack 400; volts not stated (Bosch 36 V) ternbicycles.com
- Motor
- 250 W nominal, 600 W peak, mid-drive
Source note
Tern gives no wattage; Bosch rates Active Line Plus 250 W rated continuous (EU basis) bosch-ebike.com
- Torque
- 50 Nm
- Pedal sensor
- Torque
- Claimed range
- Up to 65 mi (Tern: 400 Wh 33.6-65.2 mi; no further conditions stated)
Source note
- Weight
- 50.3 lb with battery
Source note
- Max load
- 280 lb rider + cargo
Source note
Derived: 330.7 lb max gross vehicle weight minus 50.3 lb bike; rear rack 50 kg (110 lb), rider max 264.6 lb ternbicycles.com
- Wheels & tires
- 20" × 2.15"
- Frame
- Compact cargo, 6061 aluminum, one size, 490 mm standover (Schwalbe Big Apple 55-406)
- Charger
- 2 A
Source note
- Safety certification
- UL 2849 (Bosch e-bike system)
Common questions
What is the weight limit of the Tern Quick Haul D8?
Tern rates the Quick Haul D8 for 280 lb total (rider plus cargo). At 250 lb it still goes about 21 miles in everyday riding.
Can the Tern Quick Haul D8 climb steep hills?
On throttle alone, with a 180 lb rider, it can hold 8 mph up a grade of about 11% (our estimate from its 600 W peak power). With moderate pedaling, about 13%. On a 10% hill it holds about 9 mph on throttle.
How long does the Tern Quick Haul D8 take to charge?
About 5 h 3 min from empty with the 2 A charger, or about 2 h 37 min with a 5 A fast charger. A full charge costs about $0.09 at the US average of 18.31¢/kWh, or 0.31¢ per mile.
Is the Tern Quick Haul D8 a Class 2 or Class 3 e-bike?
Tern lists it as Class 1, with a top assisted speed of 20 mph and no throttle.
Which hitch racks fit the Quick Haul D8?
At 50.3 lb with battery (about 46 lb without it) and 2.15" tires, 22 of 23 hitch racks we track can carry it (some only with the battery removed).
| Kuat Piston ION 2-bike | 100 lb/bike | Fits |
| 1UP USA Super Duty Double | 100 lb/bike | Fits |
| Saris MHS 2 Bike Package | 100 lb/bike | Fits |
| Aventon Hitch Rack Pro | 85 lb/bike | Fits |
| Yakima OnRamp LX | 80 lb/bike | Fits |
| Hollywood Racks Sport Rider for Electric Bikes | 80 lb/bike | Fits |
| Hollywood Racks RV Rider E-Bike Rack | 80 lb/bike | Fits |
| Aventon Hitch Rack | 77 lb/bike | Fits |
| Thule Epos 2-bike | 75 lb/bike | Fits |
| Yakima StageTwo | 70 lb/bike | Fits |
| Hollywood Racks Destination E | 70 lb/bike | Fits |
| Allen Sports High Capacity Locking Premier for Electric Bikes | 70 lb/bike | Fits |
| Kuat Piston Pro X 2-bike | 67 lb/bike | Fits |
| Yakima OnRamp | 66 lb/bike | Fits |
| Thule EasyFold XT 2 | 65 lb/bike | Fits |
| 1UP USA Heavy Duty Double | 65 lb/bike | Fits |
| Thule T2 Pro XTR 2-bike | 60 lb/bike | Fits |
| Kuat NV 2.0 2-bike | 60 lb/bike | Fits |
| Kuat NV Base 2.0 2-bike | 60 lb/bike | Fits |
| Saris Door County 2-Bike Motorized | 60 lb/bike | Fits |
| Saris SuperClamp G4 2-Bike | 60 lb/bike | Fits |
| Hollywood Racks Sport Rider SE2 | 50 lb/bike | Fits with battery removed |
Doesn't fit: Saris Freedom G2 2-Bike (wheel size out of range).
All hitch racks →