Tern · Cargo & utility
Tern HSD P5i (Gen 3): real range, hills and charging
A 180 lb rider on the Tern HSD P5i (Gen 3) at 16 mph with relaxed pedaling over rolling hills (±2%) on pavement can expect about 33 miles per charge (27–40 mi), using 14.8 Wh per mile. The brand claims up to 67 miles. That is about 50% of the claim. At full assist with almost no pedaling over hills it drops to about 22 miles.
545
Wh battery
250
W motor
20
mph max
Price checked 2026-10-20. We may earn a commission.
How far does the Tern HSD P5i (Gen 3) go for your weight?
Miles per full charge on a new battery at 70°F on pavement, no wind. Each number is the middle of a ±20% band. Tern claims up to 67 miles (tern: 545 wh 35-67 mi; no further conditions stated).
| Rider weight | Easy 12 mph | Everyday 16 mph | Fast 20 mph | Full assist, hills |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 150 lb | 60 mi (48–72) | 34 mi (27–41) | 23 mi (18–27) | 24 mi (19–29) |
| 200 lb | 54 mi (43–65) | 32 mi (25–38) | 22 mi (17–26) | 21 mi (17–25) |
| 250 lb | 50 mi (40–59) | 28 mi (23–34) | 21 mi (17–25) | 18 mi (15–22) |
| 300 lb | 46 mi (37–55) | 26 mi (21–31) | 20 mi (16–24) | 16 mi (13–20) |
- Easy 12 mph: 12 mph, relaxed pedaling, flat
- Everyday 16 mph: 16 mph, relaxed pedaling, rolling hills
- Fast 20 mph: 20 mph, relaxed pedaling, rolling hills
- Throttle, hills: 15 mph, no pedaling, hilly
Can the Tern HSD P5i (Gen 3) climb hills?
Highest steady speed on each grade, motor at its 600 W peak. A 10% grade is a steep city street; 15% is a hard hill.
| Rider | 5% grade | 10% grade | 15% grade |
|---|---|---|---|
| 180 lb, full assist | 14 mph | 8 mph | 6 mph |
| 180 lb, pedaling | 15 mph | 10 mph | 7 mph |
| 250 lb, full assist | 11 mph | 7 mph | 5 mph |
| 250 lb, pedaling | 13 mph | 8 mph | 5 mph |
Steepest grade at 8 mph (180 lb): 11% on throttle, 13% with moderate pedaling. Peak power lasts for short hills; on long climbs motors fall back toward their 250 W nominal rating.
Charging time and cost
Empty to full (4 A)
3 h 45 min
Charger
4 A
Cost per full charge
$0.12
Cost per mile
0.32¢
US average residential electricity, 18.31¢/kWh (EIA, July 2026), 85% charger efficiency. Charge time: constant current to ~85%, then about an hour of top-off.
Range in cold weather
70°F
33
mi · 100% cap.
50°F
30
mi · 94% cap.
32°F
26
mi · 85% cap.
20°F
23
mi · 75% cap.
Everyday scenario, 180 lb rider. Capacity loss is temporary; store and charge the battery indoors and never charge it below freezing.
Simulate your own ride on the HSD P5i (Gen 3)
Tern HSD P5i (Gen 3) specs
From the Tern product page, checked 2026-10-20. est. marks values Tern doesn't confirm.
- Price
- $4,999
Source note
Shopify compare-at shows $4,899 (lower than price); ignored
- Class
- Class 1, no throttle est.
Source note
Not stated; 20 mph assist (US), no throttle -> Class 1 inferred
- Top assisted speed
- 20 mph
Source note
- Battery
- 545 Wh (36 V), removable
Source note
Bosch PowerPack 545; volts not stated (Bosch 36 V)
- Motor
- 250 W nominal, 600 W peak, mid-drive
Source note
Tern gives no wattage; Bosch rates Performance Line 250 W rated continuous (EU basis) bosch-ebike.com
- Torque
- 75 Nm
- Pedal sensor
- Torque
- Claimed range
- Up to 67 mi (Tern: 545 Wh 35-67 mi; no further conditions stated)
- Weight
- 61.9 lb with battery
Source note
- Max load
- 357 lb rider + cargo
Source note
Derived: 418.9 lb max gross vehicle weight minus 61.9 lb bike; rear rack 176 lb, rider max 287 lb ternbicycles.com
- Wheels & tires
- 20" × 2.15"
- Frame
- Compact cargo, 6061 aluminum, one size, Gates belt + Nexus 5 hub, suspension fork (Schwalbe Big Apple 55-406)
- Charger
- 4 A
Source note
- Safety certification
- UL 2849 (complete e-bike system)
Common questions
What is the weight limit of the Tern HSD P5i (Gen 3)?
Tern rates the HSD P5i (Gen 3) for 357 lb total (rider plus cargo). At 300 lb it still goes about 26 miles in everyday riding.
Can the Tern HSD P5i (Gen 3) climb steep hills?
On throttle alone, with a 180 lb rider, it can hold 8 mph up a grade of about 11% (our estimate from its 600 W peak power). With moderate pedaling, about 13%. On a 10% hill it holds about 8 mph on throttle.
How long does the Tern HSD P5i (Gen 3) take to charge?
About 3 h 45 min from empty with the 4 A charger. A full charge costs about $0.12 at the US average of 18.31¢/kWh, or 0.32¢ per mile.
Is the Tern HSD P5i (Gen 3) a Class 2 or Class 3 e-bike?
Tern lists it as Class 1, with a top assisted speed of 20 mph and no throttle.
Which hitch racks fit the HSD P5i (Gen 3)?
At 61.9 lb with battery (about 55 lb without it) and 2.15" tires, 21 of 23 hitch racks we track can carry it (some only with the battery removed).
| Kuat Piston ION 2-bike | 100 lb/bike | Fits |
| 1UP USA Super Duty Double | 100 lb/bike | Fits |
| Saris MHS 2 Bike Package | 100 lb/bike | Fits |
| Aventon Hitch Rack Pro | 85 lb/bike | Fits |
| Yakima OnRamp LX | 80 lb/bike | Fits |
| Hollywood Racks Sport Rider for Electric Bikes | 80 lb/bike | Fits |
| Hollywood Racks RV Rider E-Bike Rack | 80 lb/bike | Fits |
| Aventon Hitch Rack | 77 lb/bike | Fits |
| Thule Epos 2-bike | 75 lb/bike | Fits |
| Yakima StageTwo | 70 lb/bike | Fits |
| Hollywood Racks Destination E | 70 lb/bike | Fits |
| Allen Sports High Capacity Locking Premier for Electric Bikes | 70 lb/bike | Fits |
| Kuat Piston Pro X 2-bike | 67 lb/bike | Fits |
| Yakima OnRamp | 66 lb/bike | Fits |
| Thule EasyFold XT 2 | 65 lb/bike | Fits |
| 1UP USA Heavy Duty Double | 65 lb/bike | Fits |
| Thule T2 Pro XTR 2-bike | 60 lb/bike | Fits with battery removed |
| Kuat NV 2.0 2-bike | 60 lb/bike | Fits with battery removed |
| Kuat NV Base 2.0 2-bike | 60 lb/bike | Fits with battery removed |
| Saris Door County 2-Bike Motorized | 60 lb/bike | Fits with battery removed |
| Saris SuperClamp G4 2-Bike | 60 lb/bike | Fits with battery removed |
Doesn't fit: Hollywood Racks Sport Rider SE2 (too heavy), Saris Freedom G2 2-Bike (wheel size out of range).
All hitch racks →