Tern · Cargo & utility
Tern GSD P10 (Gen 3): real range, hills and charging
A 180 lb rider on the Tern GSD P10 (Gen 3) at 16 mph with relaxed pedaling over rolling hills (±2%) on pavement can expect about 29 miles per charge (24–35 mi), using 15.3 Wh per mile. The brand claims up to 129 miles. That is about 23% of the claim. At full assist with almost no pedaling over hills it drops to about 19 miles.
$5,799
500
Wh battery
250
W motor
20
mph max
Price checked 2026-10-20. We may earn a commission.
How far does the Tern GSD P10 (Gen 3) go for your weight?
Miles per full charge on a new battery at 70°F on pavement, no wind. Each number is the middle of a ±20% band. Tern claims 63–129 miles (tern: 500 wh 25-63 mi; dual 1000 wh 51-129 mi; no further conditions stated).
| Rider weight | Easy 12 mph | Everyday 16 mph | Fast 20 mph | Full assist, hills |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 150 lb | 53 mi (42–64) | 31 mi (25–37) | 21 mi (16–25) | 21 mi (17–25) |
| 200 lb | 48 mi (39–58) | 28 mi (22–34) | 20 mi (16–24) | 18 mi (15–22) |
| 250 lb | 44 mi (35–53) | 25 mi (20–30) | 19 mi (15–23) | 16 mi (13–19) |
| 300 lb | 41 mi (33–49) | 23 mi (18–27) | 18 mi (15–22) | 15 mi (12–17) |
- Easy 12 mph: 12 mph, relaxed pedaling, flat
- Everyday 16 mph: 16 mph, relaxed pedaling, rolling hills
- Fast 20 mph: 20 mph, relaxed pedaling, rolling hills
- Throttle, hills: 15 mph, no pedaling, hilly
Can the Tern GSD P10 (Gen 3) climb hills?
Highest steady speed on each grade, motor at its 600 W peak. A 10% grade is a steep city street; 15% is a hard hill.
| Rider | 5% grade | 10% grade | 15% grade |
|---|---|---|---|
| 180 lb, full assist | 13 mph | 8 mph | 6 mph |
| 180 lb, pedaling | 15 mph | 9 mph | 7 mph |
| 250 lb, full assist | 11 mph | 6 mph | 4 mph |
| 250 lb, pedaling | 13 mph | 7 mph | 5 mph |
Steepest grade at 8 mph (180 lb): 10% on throttle, 12% with moderate pedaling. Peak power lasts for short hills; on long climbs motors fall back toward their 250 W nominal rating.
Charging time and cost
Empty to full (4 A)
3 h 32 min
Charger
4 A
Cost per full charge
$0.11
Cost per mile
0.33¢
US average residential electricity, 18.31¢/kWh (EIA, July 2026), 85% charger efficiency. Charge time: constant current to ~85%, then about an hour of top-off.
Range in cold weather
70°F
29
mi · 100% cap.
50°F
27
mi · 94% cap.
32°F
24
mi · 85% cap.
20°F
21
mi · 75% cap.
Everyday scenario, 180 lb rider. Capacity loss is temporary; store and charge the battery indoors and never charge it below freezing.
Simulate your own ride on the GSD P10 (Gen 3)
Tern GSD P10 (Gen 3) specs
From the Tern product page, checked 2026-10-20. est. marks values Tern doesn't confirm.
- Price
- $4,999 (list $5,799)
- Class
- Class 1, no throttle est.
Source note
Not stated; 20 mph assist (US), no throttle -> Class 1 inferred
- Top assisted speed
- 20 mph
Source note
- Battery
- 500 Wh (36 V), removable, dual-battery option
Source note
Bosch PowerPack 500, Fast Swap; optional 2 x 500 Wh; volts not stated (Bosch 36 V) ternbicycles.com
- Motor
- 250 W nominal, 600 W peak, mid-drive
Source note
Tern gives no wattage; Bosch rates Cargo Line 250 W rated continuous (EU basis) bosch-ebike.com
- Torque
- 85 Nm
- Pedal sensor
- Torque
- Claimed range
- 63–129 mi (Tern: 500 Wh 25-63 mi; dual 1000 Wh 51-129 mi; no further conditions stated)
Source note
- Weight
- 76.4 lb with battery
Source note
- Max load
- 387 lb rider + cargo
Source note
Derived: 463 lb max gross vehicle weight minus 76.4 lb bike; rear rack 220 lb, rider max 287 lb ternbicycles.com
- Wheels & tires
- 20" × 2.15"
- Frame
- Long-tail cargo, 6061 aluminum, one size, folding stem, DIN 79010 tested (Schwalbe Big Ben Plus front / Super Moto-X rear; width not stated, 2.15 assumed)
- Charger
- 4 A
Source note
- Safety certification
- UL 2849 (Bosch e-bike system)
Replaces or follows: Tern GSD Gen 2.
Common questions
What is the weight limit of the Tern GSD P10 (Gen 3)?
Tern rates the GSD P10 (Gen 3) for 387 lb total (rider plus cargo). At 300 lb it still goes about 23 miles in everyday riding.
Can the Tern GSD P10 (Gen 3) climb steep hills?
On throttle alone, with a 180 lb rider, it can hold 8 mph up a grade of about 10% (our estimate from its 600 W peak power). With moderate pedaling, about 12%. On a 10% hill it holds about 8 mph on throttle.
How long does the Tern GSD P10 (Gen 3) take to charge?
About 3 h 32 min from empty with the 4 A charger. A full charge costs about $0.11 at the US average of 18.31¢/kWh, or 0.33¢ per mile.
Is the Tern GSD P10 (Gen 3) a Class 2 or Class 3 e-bike?
Tern lists it as Class 1, with a top assisted speed of 20 mph and no throttle.
Which hitch racks fit the GSD P10 (Gen 3)?
At 76.4 lb with battery (about 70 lb without it) and 2.15" tires, 9 of 23 hitch racks we track can carry it (some only with the battery removed).
| Kuat Piston ION 2-bike | 100 lb/bike | Fits |
| 1UP USA Super Duty Double | 100 lb/bike | Fits |
| Saris MHS 2 Bike Package | 100 lb/bike | Fits |
| Aventon Hitch Rack Pro | 85 lb/bike | Fits |
| Yakima OnRamp LX | 80 lb/bike | Fits |
| Hollywood Racks Sport Rider for Electric Bikes | 80 lb/bike | Fits |
| Hollywood Racks RV Rider E-Bike Rack | 80 lb/bike | Fits |
| Aventon Hitch Rack | 77 lb/bike | Fits |
| Thule Epos 2-bike | 75 lb/bike | Fits with battery removed |
Doesn't fit: Yakima StageTwo (too heavy), Hollywood Racks Destination E (too heavy), Allen Sports High Capacity Locking Premier for Electric Bikes (too heavy), Kuat Piston Pro X 2-bike (too heavy), Yakima OnRamp (too heavy), Thule EasyFold XT 2 (too heavy), 1UP USA Heavy Duty Double (too heavy), Thule T2 Pro XTR 2-bike (too heavy), Kuat NV 2.0 2-bike (too heavy), Kuat NV Base 2.0 2-bike (too heavy), Saris Door County 2-Bike Motorized (too heavy), Saris SuperClamp G4 2-Bike (too heavy), Hollywood Racks Sport Rider SE2 (too heavy), Saris Freedom G2 2-Bike (wheel size out of range).
All hitch racks →